Department of Social Services

Controls Over Certain Local District State Aid Claims

New York State's social services are administered by 58 local districts (the 57 counties and New York City), which are overseen by the Department of Social Services. We examined the administration of services relating to day care, utilities and housing in Nassau and Suffolk Counties. We found certain improvements are needed in the administration of these services. For example, in Nassau County, the form used to authorize the services is often incomplete, incorrectly authorized or missing altogether. In Suffolk County, the receipt of the services is not documented. Because of these internal control weaknesses, unauthorized services may be provided and payment may be made for services that were not in fact provided.

For a complete copy of 95-S-29 click here.
For a copy of the associated follow-up report click here.
For a copy of the 90-day response click here.