|Date: November 13, 2003||Bulletin No. 441|
|Subject||Modifying and Saving Public Queries as well as other Query Maintenance Issues|
|Purpose||To ensure effective functioning of Public queries, particularly to prevent corruption or mistakenly saving as Private queries.|
Public query is one that can be run, modified and/or deleted by anyone who
has access to the records in the query. The current Query version requires
that a modified query has to be saved before being run.|
Because of this new feature, some Public queries have been inadvertently saved as Private and therefore cannot be accessed by other users. In addition, other Public queries have been modified and no longer return the originally intended results.
Another result of this feature is more queries are being created than are actually used. In order to ensure that only effective functioning queries exist, users should delete unused or unproductive queries.
|Guidelines for Saving Queries as a Public or Private Query||
A Private query is a query only the
creator can see and run. A Public query is a query that anyone who has
access to the records in the query can run, modify and/or delete.
Guidelines for Modifying and Saving Public Queries. If you are modifying a Public query that you did not personally create, the query should be saved with a new name. (Saving a modified query with the same name will overwrite the original version and it will not return the expected results when run by the original creator.)
In addition, you must determine if the modified query should be saved as a Public or Private version.
If the modified query is for your personal use, save it as a Private version with a new name. If other users need access to the modified query, save it as a Public version with a new name. Refer to the next section of this Bulletin for Instructions on saving queries.
|Agency Actions: Instructions on How to "Save As"||
|Agency Actions: How to Delete a Query||
NOTE: You must first verify if the query
is a Private or Public version before deleting the query. Users should not
delete Public queries that they did not personally create. Other users
will lose access to the query once it is deleted.
If it is a Private Query and you wish to delete:Select Home>PeopleTools>Query Manager>Use > Query Manager. Search for desired query to be deleted. When the Search Results displays the query to be deleted, click the Delete hyperlink that is on the same row. The confirmation message will be displayed "OK to delete query QUERY_NAME (query description)? (139,4)." Click Yes to confirm deletion of the query.
|Questions||Questions regarding this bulletin may be directed to the Query Help mailbox.|