logo

Date: January 6, 2017

Bulletin Number: 1540

line
Subject December 2016 Minimum Wage Increase for Hourly Employees

Purpose

To provide agencies instructions for entering the Minimum Wage Increases for Hourly Employees.

Affected Employees Employees in hourly positions who meet the eligibility criteria.
Background

Chapter 54 of the Laws of 2016 increased the New York State minimum wage for employees in non-governmental positions.  The Director of the Budget establishes the pay rate for State seasonal and other non-statutory positions paid using an hourly rate.

In accordance with the following bulletin, the minimum hourly wage is being increased as noted:

Division of the Budget Bulletin G-1037 authorizes the minimum hourly wage be increased for seasonal and other non-statutory positions to $11.00 for State employees whose job location is within the five boroughs of New York City (NYC) or $10.00 for State employees in Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester counties, excluding employees of the City University of New York (CUNY), of the State University of New York (SUNY) or of the State University Construction Fund.

Effective
Date(s)

The December 2016 minimum wage increase for hourly employees will be processed using the following effective dates and check dates:

Pay Cycle/Pay Period Type

Effective Date

Check Date

Administration 21 Current

01/12/2017

01/25/2017

Administration 21 Lag

01/12/2017

02/08/2017

Administration Extra Lag

01/05/2017

02/08/2017

Institution 21 Current

01/05/2017

01/19/2017

Institution 21 Lag

01/05/2017

02/02/2017

Institution Extra Lag

01/12/2017

02/02/2017












Eligibility Criteria Employees with a pay basis code of HRY on or after the appropriate effective date, and an hourly rate less than the amount provided on the chart below.  This bulletin only pertains to State employees in New York City or Nassau, Suffolk or Westchester County.

Dept./Location

Minimum Hourly Wage

New York City

$11.00

Nassau, Suffolk,
Westchester counties.

$10.00


Agency Actions Agencies must process the Minimum Wage increase to $10.00 for eligible employees whose job is in Suffolk, Nassau and Westchester counties, or $11.00 for employees in New York City.

Agencies must submit a Pay Change on the Job Action Requests page using the Reason code CRT (Chg Rate) using the appropriate effective date as indicated on the above chart.

Agencies must update all subsequent effective dated rows provided the employee remains in an eligible position.

Agencies that use the New York State Electronic Personnel System (NYSTEP) for compensation adjustments must enter these adjustments through NYSTEP if the rate frequency of the position is less than the appropriate amount indicated on the chart above. Further, agencies should ensure that the employee’s job location is accurate in NYSTEP, especially for those individuals whose job location is in New York City, or Suffolk, Nassau or Westchester County.

Note: If an employee’s job location changes to a location with a different minimum wage in effect, the agency must update the employee’s rate to reflect the appropriate rate of the new location.

Questions

Questions regarding this bulletin may be directed to the Payroll Earnings mailbox.