logo
Date: November 14, 2008
Bulletin Number: 859
line
Subject

Licensure Premium for the NYS Schools for the Deaf and the Blind

Purpose

To inform agencies of the new Additional Pay Earnings codes and to provide instructions to pay the Licensure Premium.

Affected Employees

Employees in Agencies 11260 and 11270 who are in a title of Speech Instructor/Therapist, Psychologist, or Audiologist and have received licenses in those fields.

Background

Pursuant to the 2008 Memorandum of Agreement between the State of New York and the Public Employees Federation, a Licensure Premium was established for certain NYS School for the Deaf and NYS School for the Blind employees who currently possess or who obtain a license in their respective fields on or after September 1, 2008.

Effective
Date
(s)

Payments may be submitted beginning in Pay Period 18L, paychecks dated 12/18/08.

Payment
Information
and Eligibility
Criteria

The PEF 2007-2011 contract includes a GOER MOU that states that certain employees in the NYS Schools for the Deaf and the Blind are entitled to a $1,000 Licensure Premium for receiving a license in their respective fields.

Eligibility for the Licensure Premium shall require licensure and/or registration as described below:

  • For Speech Instructors/Therapists, a New York State license in Speech-Language Pathology as required by the federal government for Medicaid billing;
  • For Psychologists, a New York State license in Psychology/Counseling as required by the federal government for Medicaid billing;
  • For Audiologists, a New York State license in Audiology as required by the federal government for Medicaid billing.

The Licensure Premium is pensionable and included in the calculation of overtime.

OSC Actions

OSC has created new Additional Pay earnings codes to be used to pay the Licensure Premium to eligible employees:

  • BDL

(Blind and Deaf Lic Prem) must be used to report the annual amount

  • ABD

(Adjust Blind and Deaf LP) must be used to report adjustments to the Licensure Premium

Agency Actions

Beginning in Pay Period 18L, agencies must use the following procedure when reporting the Licensure Premium payment on the Additional Pay page:

Earnings Code:

BDL

Effective Date:

8/28/08 or date the employee becomes eligible for the payment

Annual Additional Earnings:

$1,000

Questions

Questions about payment processing may be directed to the Payroll Audit mailbox.