
STATE OF NEW YORK OFFICE OF THE STATE COMPTROLLER

Partners in Excellence

Office of Operations
2015 Fall Conference

December 8-9

New York State Office of the State 
Comptroller
Thomas P. DiNapoli, Comptroller

Office of Operations
John Traylor, Executive Deputy Comptroller

Division of Payroll, Accounting and Revenue Services
Christopher Gorka, Deputy Comptroller
Dave Hasso, Assistant Comptroller
Robin Rabii, Director, Bureau of State Payroll Services

Workers’ Compensation 101

Heather Lawson



STATE OF NEW YORK OFFICE OF THE STATE COMPTROLLER
2

Determining Workers’ Compensation

 Under Workers’ Compensation Law, an employee absent from 
work due to a Workers’ Compensation accident is required to 
serve a seven (7) day waiting period.  During this period the 
employee has the option of charging accrued leave credits, Sick 
Leave half pay if no accruals, or immediately being placed on 
Leave Without Pay.

 Employees that charge leave credits must be placed on Leave 
Without Pay after the expiration of the seven (7) day waiting 
period or upon the exhaustion of Leave credits.  Accruals and 
Sick Leave half pay can be combined to cover this period.
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Workers’ Compensation Benefit for New York 
State Employees by Bargaining Unit

 There is a 1 year cumulative maximum on Workers’ 
Compensation Benefits.  Employees receiving Workers’ 
Compensation Benefits shall be treated as though on the 
payroll for the length of the disability.

 If employee has not returned to work after twelve cumulative 
months of absence due to the same injury, the agency must 
remove the employee from LOA/WPS and put them on 
LOA/SKL, LOA/LOT or LOA/RPD at the discretion of the agency.
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Workers’ Compensation Benefit for New York 
State Employees by Bargaining Unit

 If an employee is out on Workers’ Compensation due to an 
assault case, the employee is entitled to pay their portion of 
Health Insurance and the agency cannot terminate for two 
years.

 The employee should be put out on a Sick Leave after the first 
year.  Comments should be entered into PayServ, NYSTEP and 
NYBEAS stating that the Sick Leave is due to an assault case.



STATE OF NEW YORK OFFICE OF THE STATE COMPTROLLER
5

Workers’ Compensation Benefit for New York 
State Employees by Bargaining Unit

 Security
 6 months – no charge to accruals
 Accruals
 Sick Leave half pay, if available
 Sick Leave no pay, if applicable
 1 Year Benefit
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Workers’ Compensation Benefit for New York 
State Employees by Bargaining Unit

 Management Confidential
 Accruals
 IPP (Income Protection Plan), if enrolled
 LOA/STO or LOA/LTO
 1 year Benefit



STATE OF NEW YORK OFFICE OF THE STATE COMPTROLLER
7

Workers’ Compensation Processing Review

 If the MC employee is not enrolled in the IPP program, the 
employee uses accruals, then sick leave at half pay until that 
eligibility or the benefit is exhausted.

 If the employee exhausts their sick leave with half pay before 
the year benefit, the employee would be placed on a Leave with 
no Pay with the Reason of WDL until the benefit is exhausted.
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Workers’ Compensation Benefit for New York 
State Employees by Bargaining Unit

 The IPP program is monitored by Civil Service and The 
Governor’s Office of Employee Relations (GOER).

 Any questions please contact:
 Civil Service Employee Benefits Division        518-473-3496  OR
 800-833-4344
 GOER 518-473-7233
 Civil Service Time and Attendance                 518-457-2295



STATE OF NEW YORK OFFICE OF THE STATE COMPTROLLER
9

Workers’ Compensation Benefit for New York 
State Employees by Bargaining Unit

 CSEA\PEF\Housing & Rent Regulation\Military & Naval
 Statutory Benefit
 Charge first 5 days
 Supplement of 60% of biweekly wage if over 50% disabled
 Supplement for 9 months
 1 year Benefit
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Workers’ Compensation Benefit for New York 
State Employees by Bargaining Unit

 Unified Court System – Non Security
 Statutory Benefit
 Charge first 5 days
 1 year Benefit
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Date of Accident

 The Date of Accident determines the Workers’ 
Compensation benefit:
 For example, if an employee had a workers’ comp injury as a 

Security Officer, but has a recurrence while in a PEF 
position, the agency should process the Workers’ 
Compensation benefit as provided for Security Officers.
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Reporting on the Incident and Injury Details 
Pages

 Before placing employee on a Workers’ Comp Leave, the data 
must be reported  on both the Incident and Injury Details 
pages.
 Path:  Workforce Monitoring>Health and Safety>Obtain Incident 

Information>Incident Details
 Select Add a New Value
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Reporting on the Incident and Injury Details 
Pages
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Reporting on the Incident and Injury Details 
Pages

Incident Date is the Date of Accident



STATE OF NEW YORK OFFICE OF THE STATE COMPTROLLER
15

Reporting on the Incident and Injury Details 
Pages
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Reporting on the Incident and Injury Details 
Pages

Agency Discretion to Complete
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Reporting on the Incident and Injury Details 
Pages
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Reporting on the Incident and Injury Details 
Pages

Please note:   If adding details remember that 
HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996) Laws are in effect.
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Placing the Employee on Leave Without Pay

 After the Incident and Injury pages are complete, a new row 
must be inserted on the employee’s Job Data page to place the 
employee on Workers’ Compensation Leave.
 Use the Action/Reason code:
 LOA/WPS – Leave of Absence/WC 60%SUP
 LOA/WDL – Leave of Absence/WC Dis Lv
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Reporting the Reinstatement From Leave

 When the employee returns to work, the agency must insert a 
row on the employee’s Job Data page to report the Return from 
Leave, effective the date the employee returned to work.

 The Action/Reason of Return from Leave/RPS (Rein WC 60% 
Sup) or Return from Leave/RDL (Rein WC Disability leave) must 
be used.
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Eligibility for WC Supplement

 To be eligible for a supplement payment the employee must be 
more than 50% disabled and the employee must be within the 
first cumulative 39 weeks of disability following the accident 
(39 weeks = 195 days).

 If the employee is 50% or less disabled, the agency is required 
to find the employee a position according to the Mandatory 
Alternate Duty (MAD) policy.  Please refer to Civil Service Time 
and Attendance Manual 
http://www.cs.ny.gov/attendance_leave/index.cfm.

 QUESTIONS REGARDING THE MAD PROGRAM PLEASE CALL 
GOER @ 518-473-7233
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Eligibility for WC Supplement

 SIF sends OSC a weekly listing of all employees above 50% disabled 
that they have made payments to.  OSC reviews and processes the 
supplement payments.

 Supplements are only made during the 39 weeks within the year 
benefit.  Periods of time for which the employee charges accruals or 
is paid Sick Leave at half pay are counted toward the 39 weeks.

 If the employee has been paid Sick Leave at half pay and the period 
is subsequently determined to be Workers’ Compensation, a 
supplement will be paid to bring the employee’s wages from 50% to 
60% as guaranteed by the contract.
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Eligibility for WC Supplement 

 Employees will be due a Supplemental Payment if their normal 
biweekly gross wages including additional salary factors 
multiplied by 60% exceeds the SIF biweekly payment.
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Calculation of Supplemental Payment

 Example:
 $1,539.46 Biweekly Salary
 116.07 Biweekly Location Pay
 22.05 Biweekly Inconvenience Pay
 $1,677.58 Total Biweekly Salary
 X          .60
 $1,006.54 60% of Total Biweekly Salary
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Calculation of Supplemental Payment

SIF pays weekly, therefore if SIF is paying  $550.00 weekly, you 
need to multiply that by 2 to get the biweekly SIF Payment, 
which  would be $1,100.  The Biweekly Supplemental Payment 
would be calculated as follows:

$1006.54 (60% of normal biweekly gross)
- 1100.00 (SIF biweekly statutory payment)
$ 0 Biweekly Supplemental Amount
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Calculation of Supplemental Payment

The Supplemental Payment will be processed for the number of  
days reported on the SIF file.  If the number of days is other 
than ten, the biweekly Supplemental Payment will be multiplied 
by the number of days being paid.

If the supplement pay is $108.37 and there are 3 days being 
paid, calculate as follows:

$108.37 Supplement amount for 10 days
x       .3

$  32.51 Supplement amount for days being paid by SIF
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Calculation of Supplemental Payment

 After OSC has calculated Supplemental Payments each pay 
period, the Supplemental payment information for all 
employees including those for which no Supplemental Payment 
was due will be recorded on the Workers’ Compensation Data 
page.

 Path to Workers’ Compensation Data Page:
 Main Menu>Payroll for North America>Employee Pay Data 

USA>Workers Compensation Data
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Workers’ Compensation Data

1
SIF Award – is the amount 
SIF paid the employee for 
the number of supplement 
days
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Workers’ Compensation Data

2
Retirement Salary – is the 
employee’s total biweekly 
salary multiplied by the 
number of days SIF paid.
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Workers’ Compensation Data

3
Earnings Begin and End 
Date – dates being 
supplemented for this pay 
period
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Workers’ Compensation Data

4

Supplement Amount – the 
amount employee is owed 
(60% of biweekly is more 
than SIF is paying 
biweekly)
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Workers’ Compensation Data

5 Service Days/Supplement Days – this is the 
number of days paid this period.  Can be 
different if the employee is working less 
than 100%.  For example an employee is 
only 50%, the service days would only be 
half of the supplement days.
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Paycheck After Workers’ Compensation 
Supplement Data is Processed

This is an example of what an 
employee’s paycheck looks like 
after WC Supplement Data is 
processed
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Eligibility & Calculating Supplemental Payments

 For full detailed instructions, REFER TO BULLETIN 502 –
Eligibility and Processing Instructions for the Workers’ 
Compensation  Supplemental Program.
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Controverted Cases and Retro Transactions

 When a claim is submitted to SIF, the case manager reviews 
the case and can controvert it.  When a claim is controverted it 
just means that SIF has not accepted it as Workers’ Comp. The 
agency is notified that the case is controverted.  The employee 
gets to charge accruals, use sick leave half pay and then sick 
leave no pay, until the claim is accepted.

 ONCE THE CLAIM IS ACCEPTED DO NOT GO BACK TO THE FIRST 
DAY THE EMPLOYEE WAS OUT AND REMOVE THE EMPLOYEE 
FROM THE PAYROLL.  IF THE EMPLOYEE WAS ON SICK LEAVE 
NO PAY, CHANGE THAT PERIOD TO LOA/WPS.
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Controverted Cases and Retro Transactions

 The Workers’ Comp leave should be done in the current pay 
period.  The agency needs to let State Insurance Fund know 
immediately (c11, c256.s, email and/or phone call) of the date 
the employee is no longer receiving money.  New York Sate 
Credit will be awarded for the period of accruals and/or sick 
leave half pay and SIF will pick up payments to the employee 
once off the payroll.
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Controverted Cases and Retro Transactions

 There are many times a Workers’ Comp leave is reported late.  
It happens when the employee does not report the accident 
timely to the agency or when the agency does not learn of the 
accident until after the waiting period.  DO NOT REMOVE THE 
EMPLOYEE FROM THE PAYROLL RETROACTIVELY unless the 
employee does not have accruals or sick leave half pay 
eligibility.  Remove the employee from the payroll in the current 
pay period.  Let SIF know immediately that the employee 
charged more than five days of accruals and when you are 
removing them from the payroll.  If by chance, SIF has started 
paying them, inform them that employee charged accruals and 
they need to recoup the money from the employee.
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Controverted Cases and Retro Transactions

 PLEASE REFER TO THE TIME & ATTENDANCE MANUAL SECTION 
21.8, GENERAL INFORMATION BULLETIN 93-03, PAGE 2 OF 3 
FOR FULL PROCEDURE.

 http://www.cs.ny.gov/attendance_leave/index.cfm.
 MOST IMPORTANT – PLEASE COMMUNICATE WITH YOUR CASE 

MANAGER.  WHETHER IT IS WITH A PHONE CALL OR AN EMAIL, 
EVEN IF YOU ARE GOING TO SEND A C11 AND/OR C256.2, 
PLEASE CONTACT THE CASE MANAGER IMMEDIATELY.  MOST 
OF THE OVERPAYMENTS ARE CAUSED BY LACK OF 
COMMUNICATION BETWEEN THE AGENCY AND SIF.

http://www.cs.ny.gov/attendance_leave/index.cfm
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Overpayments

 Sometimes SIF will request that an agency recoup an 
overpayment from an employee.  This happens when SIF is no 
longer paying the employee so they have no way of recouping 
the money.  SIF has sent the employee letters and the 
employee has not responded.  The case manager will contact 
OSC with the information and OSC will contact the agency to 
set up the overpayment.  OSC will enter General Comments 
which include the dates, the amount owed and the reason for 
the overpayment.
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Overpayments

 In order for OSC to stop an overpayment being recouped on 
SIF’s behalf and refund any money taken from the employee, 
SIF needs to receive the total amount of the overpayment from 
the employee.  SIF will contact OSC to let them know that the 
overpayment has been satisfied.  OSC will contact the agency 
to refund any money taken.
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Reporting Workers’ Compensation to the NYS 
Retirement System

 Employees on LOA/WDL automatically report biweekly to the 
Retirement System.

 Employees on LOA/WPS need to be reported to ERS:
 For the period after the first 9 months and before the 1 year limit 

of the benefit.
 For periods for which the employee has a disability level of 50% or 

less, no Supplement is paid and the employee has not returned to 
work.
 AGENCY MUST REPORT WAGES AND SERVICE DATES TO ERS 

USING FORM RS 2050.
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Reporting Workers’ Compensation to the NYS 
Retirement System

 If an agency is made aware that the employee has a 
Retirement estimate, and if there are periods of time that are 
missing when the employee was out on Workers’ 
Compensation, the agency should check the Workers 
Compensation Data Panel in PayServ.  
 (Payroll for North America > Employee Pay Data > Workers 

Compensation Data)
 For all missing periods, the RS 2050 must be completed and 

sent to the NYS Retirement System.



STATE OF NEW YORK OFFICE OF THE STATE COMPTROLLER
43

Reporting Workers’ Compensation to the NYS 
Retirement System

 When an employee has returned from LOA/WPS, the agency 
should check the Workers Compensation Data Panel for any 
missing time periods from the first day off the payroll to the 
date of return.
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Workers’ Comp Corrected W-2s/Refunds

Questions regarding these processes should be sent to the 
Workers’ Compensation Mailbox.

Please do not send questions to the Tax and Compliance Mailbox.
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